Lewis Hamilton secured the 52nd win of his Formula One career to move ahead of Alain Prost on the all-time greats list when he won Sunday's Brazilian Grand Prix.

In a race that saw five safety car periods and two red flags, Hamilton kept his cool in the treacherous conditions, leading from lights to flag, to become the only driver to have ever won at 24 different venues across the world.

Hamilton's win sees him now just 12 points behind his teammate, Nico Rosberg, in the drivers' championship with just one race remaining in the 2016 season.

Rosberg had a slight moment in the rain and went for a minor half spin, but the German managed to hold his place and finish second to his teammate.

Max Verstappen, who was voted driver of the day, also had a very hairy moment when he spun on the front straight and almost hit the barriers. He saved his Red Bull brilliantly and carried on as if nothing happened, even managing to keep his place ahead of Rosberg. Unfortunately the Red Bull team tried putting the young Dutchman on intermediate tyres when the track was still way too wet and as a result he lost time when coming back in for another set of full wets.

"His recovery was amazing," Red Bull boss Christian Horner told Sky. "That was one of the best drives I've seen in Formula One. We gave him a huge amount to do and the way he drove those last 15 laps was unbelievable.”

Once back on track however, he sliced his way through the field, much to the chagrin of Sebastian Vettel, who was made to move off track slightly to allow Max through, to eventually finish third.

"I think I was racing him side-by-side, he saw me and I still had a little bit of my nose ahead, “Vettel said of the incident.

Only 16 drivers finished the race with several cars aquaplaning on the very wet track and spinning into the wall, including the Ferrari of Kimi Raikkonen and the Williams of Felipe Massa.

  1. Lewis Hamilton, Mercedes, 3:01.01.335
    2. Nico Rosberg, Mercedes, + 11.455
    3. Max Verstappen, Red Bull, + 21.481
    4. Sergio Perez, Force India, + 25.346
    5. Sebastian Vettel, Ferrari, + 26.334
    6. Carlos Sainz, Toro Rosso, + 29.160
    7. Nico Hulkenberg, Force India, + 29.827
    8. Daniel Ricciardo, Red Bull, + 30.486
    9. Felipe Nasr, Sauber, + 42.620
    10. Fernando Alonso, McLaren, + 44.432
    11. Valtteri Bottas, Williams, + 45.292
    12. Esteban Ocon, Manor, + 45.809
    13. Daniil Kvyat, Toro Rosso, + 51.192
    14. Kevin Magnussen, Renault, + 51.155
    15. Pascal Wehrlein, Manor, + 1:00.498
    16. Jenson Button, McLaren, + 1:21.994