Australia have received an almighty snub in the ICC Test Team of the Year, with Pat Cummins, the world's No.1 ranked Test bowler, failing to be named in the XI.

Cummins' omission means that just the sole Australian was selected into the lineup, with Marnus Labuschange named at No.3 in the batting order.

Labuschange's scintillating form has seen him rise to the summit of the ICC batting rankings, having amassed 526 runs in 2021 at an average of 65.75.

Partner-in-crime and No.4 ranked batsman Steve Smith wasn't selected despite his average of 53.75 for the year, however it was Cummins' shock shun that has sparked questions.

The Australian skipper recorded 18 wickets at an average of 18.76 to claim his place as the world's best Test bowler, however ICC selectors found no room for the paceman in their XI.

Australian bowler Pat Cummins reaches for the ball on the second day of the fourth Test cricket match between South Africa and Australia won by South Africa at Wanderers cricket ground on March 31, 2018 in Johannesburg, South Africa. / AFP PHOTO / GIANLUIGI GUERCIA (Photo credit should read GIANLUIGI GUERCIA/AFP/Getty Images)

The snubs for the Australian stars may come due to their limited amount of matches in 2021, having played just the five Tests for the entire year, compared to England's 15.

No.3 ranked bowler Kagiso Rabada joined Cummins in missing the selection, with South Africa not having a single player named in the side.

Pakistan and India dominated the ICC Team of the Year selections, both having three players each named in the side.

New Zealand pair Kane Williamson and Kyle Jamieson were also named, while England captain Joe Root was named at No.4

Sri Lanka opener Dimuth Karunaratne was paired with Rohit Sharma at the top of the order after averaging 69.38 runs per innings across his seven Tests last year.


Dimuth Karunaratne (Sri Lanka)
Rohit Sharma (India)
Marnus Labuschagne (Australia)
Joe Root (England)
Kane Williamson (New Zealand)
Fawad Alam (Pakistan)
Rishabh Pant (India)
Ravichandran Ashwin (India)
Kyle Jamieson (New Zealand)
Hasan Ali (Pakistan)
Shaheen Afridi (Pakistan)