Pat Cummins is set to spend the start of the Australian summer on the sidelines, with the squad today confirmed for the early start to the summer.

The Aussies will kick off their summer activities with six ODIs at the back-end of winter, to be played in the form of a three-match series against Zimbabwe in Townsville, followed by a three-match series against New Zealand in Cairns.

The catch up ODIs were all supposed to be played previously, but were delayed by the coronavirus global pandemic, forcing the hand of Cricket Australia to begin the summer in August.

Test captain Cummins will be rested from the six matches, however, Australia are otherwise virtually at full strength, with Mitchell Starc and Josh Hazlewood both set to line up for the home side.

Other multi-format players David Warner, Steve Smith, Cameron Green and Marnus Labuschagne are also set to line up.

Travis Head is the only other surprise missing, with the South Australian to stay at home due to the birth of his first child.

They are replaced in the squad by Adam Zampa and Sean Abbott, while Ashton Agar has retained his place in the 15-man squad after overcoming a side strain.

Matthew Kuhnemann, Josh Inglis and Jhye Richardson have also been left out after being included in the Sri Lankan touring squad.

Australia have not played a single ODI at home since December 2020, with the series against Zimbabwe to be the first time Australia's men's team have played in Townsville, and those against New Zealand being the first matches in Cairns since 2004.

ODI squad to play Zimbabwe and New Zealand

Aaron Finch, Sean Abbott, Ashton Agar, Alex Carey, Cameron Green, Josh Hazlewood, Marnus Labuschagne, Mitchell Marsh, Glenn Maxwell, Steve Smith, Mitchell Starc, Marcus Stoinis, David Warner, Adam Zampa

Fixtures vs Zimbabwe

Sunday Aug 28: Riverway Stadium, Townsville, 9:40am
Wednesday Aug 31: Riverway Stadium, Townsville, 9:40am
Saturday Sep 3: Riverway Stadium, Townsville, 9:40am

Fixtures vs New Zealand

Tuesday, Sep 6: Cazaly Stadium, Cairns, 2:20pm
Thursday, Sep 8: Cazaly Stadium, Cairns, 2:20pm
Sunday Sep 11: Cazaly Stadium, Cairns, 2:20pm