CANBERRA, AUSTRALIA - NOVEMBER 12: Tim Cahill of the Socceroos in action during the 2018 FIFA World Cup Qualification match between the Australian Socceroos and Kyrgyzstan at GIO Stadium on November 12, 2015 in Canberra, Australia. (Photo by Mark Nolan/Getty Images)

Australian coach Ange Postecoglou has named his Socceroos squad for March's World Cup qualifiers against Tajikistan and Jordan.

Postecoglou has made major changes to the last squad named in October, with Tommy Oar, Alex Wilkinson, Jason Davidson, Tomi Juric, James Troisi and James Meredith all missing out on selection.

However, several youngsters have been blooded, with the Asian Cup winning coach including young defenders Alex Gersbach and Jason Geria, as well as striker Aspostolos Giannou, who was recently coaxed into switching allegiances from Greece to Australia.

Robbie Kruse, Matthew Spiranovic, and Mitch Langerak have all been recalled.

Australia take on Tajikistan in Adelaide on 24 March and Jordan in Sydney on 29.


Adam Federici (Reading), Mitch Langerak (Stuttgart), Mat Ryan (Valencia)


Jason Geria (Melbourne Victory), Alex Gersbach (Rosenborg), Ryan McGowan (Henan Jianye FC), Josh Risdon (Perth Glory), Trent Sainsbury (Jiangsu Suning), Brad Smith (Liverpool), Matthew Spiranovic (Hangzhou Greentown), Bailey Wright (Preston North End), Matt McKay (Brisbane Roar)


Chris Ikonomidis (U.S. Salernitana 1919), Mile Jedinak (Crystal Palace), Massimo Luongo (Queens Park Rangers), Mark Milligan (Baniyas FC), Aaron Mooy (Melbourne City), Tom Rogic (Celtic)


Nathan Burns (FC Tokyo), Tim Cahill (Hangzhou Greentown), Aspostolos Giannou (Guanghzhou R&F), Robbie Kruse (Bayer Leverkusen), Mathew Leckie (FC Ingolstadt 04)