He did it! Nico Rosberg became the new Formula One World Champion at the season ending Abu Dhabi Grand Prix last Sunday and is now the second F1 champion to bear the Rosberg name 34 years after his father, Keke, took the title back in 1982.

Ironically enough, both men won the World Championship in a car bearing start number 6!

Keke won the title for Finland, but Nico is the third F1 champion to come from Germany after Michael Schumacher and Sebastian Vettel.

Graham and Damon Hill are the only other father-son duo to win the world title.

Nico will be officially honoured as Formula One World Champion at the FIA Prize giving Gala in Vienna next Friday when he'll get to hold the trophy for the first time.

Also, he picked up a special award last Sunday for posting the most fastest race laps this season, a title he secured well before the finale in Abu Dhabi with six fastest laps.

Meanwhile, Mercedes AMG Petronas achieved a hat-trick of double wins this season. Since the start of the Hybrid Power Unit era in 2014, the Silver Arrows have now won the drivers' and constructors' titles in three consecutive years.

The team won 19 of 21 races this season, taking eight one-two wins along the way.

Lewis Hamilton's success on Sunday in Abu Dhabi was also the 150th Formula One victory for a vehicle powered by Mercedes.

The Silver Arrows have achieved more than a third of these wins, 51 altogether, over the past three years.