Springtime in Melbourne, Australia means two things: the end of the football season and the start of the Spring Racing Carnival.

While visitors to the city's three biggest metropolitan race tracks - Moonee Valley, Caulfield and Flemington - are sure to see their fair share of fancy fascinators and inebriated punters, they will also lock eyes on some of the finest thoroughbreds, pooled from across the globe.

Between mid-October and early November, the city, and the nation at large, stop to watch the three most prestigious Group One races on the calendar - the Cox Plate, Caulfield Cup and, of course, the Melbourne Cup.

Stretching back almost 120 years, here are the 12 groups of horses, trainers and jockeys to have won the double at Caulfield and Flemington in the same spring.

  • Poseidon (1906) - Isaac Earnshaw (trainer)/Tom Clayton (jockey)
  • The Trump (1937) - S.W. Reid/Ashley Reed
  • Rivette (1939) - Harry Bamber/Teddy Preston
  • Rising Fast (1954) - Ivan Tucker/Jack Purtell
  • Even Stevens (1962) - Arch McGregor/Les Coles
  • Galilee (1966) - John Bartholomew Cummings/John Miller
  • Gurner's Lane (1982) - Geoff Murphy/Mick Dittman
  • Let's Elope (1991) - John Bartholomew Cummings/Steven King
  • Doriemus (1995) - Lee Freedman/Damien Oliver
  • Might And Power (1997) - Jack Denham/Jim Cassidy
  • Ethereal (2001) - Shiela Laxon/Scott Seamer
  • Without A Fight (2023) Anthony and Sam Freedman/Mark Zahra