Italian gloveman Gianluigi Donnarumma is out to defend his 2020 UEFA European Championships Player of the Tournament title in Germany this year as Gli Azzurri hope to make it consecutive successful Euros wins.

The PSG superstar was named the best player at the Euros tournament four years ago for his heroics in leading the Blues to a final victory over England, becoming the first goalkeeper to win the award.

Italy conceded just four goals for the entire tournament, all of which came in the knockout stages after a ruthless group stage period against Wales, Switzerland and Turkey.

This year might not be as comfortable for the Italians, who will face Spain, Croatia and Albania in Group B of the 2024 tournament.

Donnarumma won't be the only player at this year's Euros to potentially become the first ever to win multiple Player of the Tournament titles, with 2016 winner Antoine Greizmann to again play a pivotal role for the favoured France.

Greizmann became the first player to take out the award for a non-winning nation, having fallen to Portugal in the final following the marksman's tournament-leading six goals in front of his home crowd.

The 33-year-old was the second Frenchman to win the award, following legend Zinedine Zidane who was recognised as Player of the Tournament in 2000.

The inaugural Euros Player of the Tournament award was handed down at the 1996 championships, where German Mattias Sammer took out the award following a pair of goals in England - including the decider in a quarter-final victory over Croatia.

Theodoros Zagorakis was crowned as the Player of the Tournament in Greece's upset title win, while Spanish icons Xavi and Andres Iniesta took out the award at the 2008 and 2012 tournaments respectively.

Every Euros Player of the Tournament winner

1996 - Mattias Sammer (Germany)
2000 - Zinedine Zidane (France)
2004 - Theodoros Zagorakis (Greece)
2008 - Xavi (Spain)
2012 - Andres Iniesta (Spain)
2016 - Antoine Greizmann (France)
2020 - Gianluigi Donnarumma (Italy)