Every April, the eyes of the sporting world turn to this little pocket of paradise in Georgia, USA, with the best golfers on the planet fighting it out for the annual Masters.

For each year's winner, a lifetime invitation to return is on offer, as well as the snappy green jacket, of course.

But have any of these victors ever held their lead across all four days to win the tournament, wire-to-wire?

The answer may surprise some.

Since 1941, there have been five golfers to have seen their name sit atop the leaderboard on Thursday, Friday, Saturday and then on Sunday: Craig Wood, Arnold Palmer, Raymond Floyd and contemporary champion, Jordan Speith.

Year Winner First round score Final score
1941 Craig Wood 66 (-6) 280 (-8)
1960 Arnold Palmer 67 (-5) 282 (-6)
1972 Jack Nicklaus 68 (-4) 286 (-2)
1976 Raymond Floyd 65 (-7) 271 (-17)
2015 Jordan Speith 64 (-8) 270 (-18)