In 1891, the first French Championships of tennis were contested at Roland Garros, with many of the game's legendary pioneers proving to be the toast of Paris after becoming kings of the clay court.

However, since 1968, the event has evolved into a behemoth, with the French Open one of the globe's four largest tennis tournaments, sitting snugly alongside Wimbledon and the Australian and US Opens.

From a slew of Aussie assassins to a legendary Spanish conquistador, here is the full list of singles players to have won multiple titles during the open era.

Men's winners

14 - Rafael Nadal (Spain)
6 - Björn Borg (Sweden)
3 - Mats Wilander (Sweden)
3 - Ivan Lendl (Czech Republic)
3 - Gustavo Kuerten (Brazil)
3 - Novak Djokovic (Serbia)
2 - Jan Kodeš (Czech Repeblic)
2 - Jim Courier (United States)
2 - Sergi Bruguera (Spain)

Women's winners 

7 - Chris Evert (United States)
6 - Steffi Graf (Germany)
4 - Justine Henin (Belgium)
3 - Margaret Court (Australia)
3 - Arantxa Sánchez Vicario (Spain)
3 - Monica Seles (Yugoslavia/Serbia and Montenegro)
3 - Serena Williams (United States)
3 - Iga Świątek (Poland)
2 - Martina Navratilova (United States)
2 - Maria Sharapova (Russia)