Alongside The Open, The Masters and the US Open, the PGA Championship remains one of four major pillars in the professional golfing calendar.

Since 1916, the event has been held at a myriad of courses right across America, with a champion crowned after four days of sterlingĀ golf.

Yet, since 1958, the winner has been found via stroke play rather than match play.

And within this era so far, a playoff has been required to split two or more combatants on 14 occasions, including in three consecutive tournaments between 1977 and 1979.

From a duo of Dons duking it out to a pair of current-day stars proving tough to split, here is the full list of occasions that a playoff has been required after 72 holes of PGA Championship golf.


Year Winner Runner-up Course
1961 Jerry Barber (US) Don January (US) Olympia Fields, IL
1967 Don January (US) Don Massengale (US) Columbine, CO
1977 Lanny Wadkins (US) Gene Littler (US) Pebble Beach, CA
1978 John Mahaffey (US) Jerry Pate (US) & Tom Watson (US) Oakmont, PA
1979 David Graham (AUS) Ben Crenshaw (US) Oakland Hills, MI
1987 Larry Nelson (US) Lanny Wadkins (US) PGA National, FL
1993 Paul Azinger (US) Greg Norman (AUS) Inverness Club, OH
1995 Steve Elkington (AUS) Colin Montgomerie (SCO) Riviera, CA
1996 Mark Brooks (US) Kenny Perry (US) Valhalla, KY
2000 Tiger Woods (US) Bob May (US) Valhalla, KY
2004 Vijay Singh (FJ) Chris DiMarco (US) & Justin Leonard (US) Whistling Straits, WI
2010 Martin Kaymer (GER) Bubba Watson (US) Whistling Straits, WI
2011 Keegan Bradley (US) Jason Dufner (US) Atlanta, GA
2022 Justin Thomas (US) Will Zalatoris (US) Southern Hills, OK