It's crunch time in the NBA season with just four teams remaining. Two of them - the Boston Celtics and Indiana Pacers - will commence the Eastern Conference Finals on Wednesday morning.

The series will tip off at the TD Garden in Boston on Wednesday, May 21 at 10am (AEST).

For Indiana, it's their first trip to the conference finals since 2014 when they were beaten 4-3 for the second time in two seasons by the Miami Heat.

The Pacers have only ever been out of the conference finals once in 2000 by beating the New York Knicks 4-2. They have lost the conference finals on seven other occasions.

Boston, on the other hand, have played in the Eastern Conference Finals during three of the last four seasons. They fell short in two of those two, losing to Miami in both 2020 and 2023, but beating the Heat in 2022. They also played conference finals - but lost both times to the Cleveland Cavaliers - in 2017 and 2018.

Boston have beaten Miami 4-1 and Cleveland 4-1 to make the conference finals, while Indiana got the better of Milwaukee 4-2 and New York 4-3 after claiming the number six seed at the end of the regular season.

How to watch the Eastern Conference Finals on TV in Australia

In Australia, the only way to watch the Eastern Conference finals on TV will be through ESPN, who hold the exclusive rights to NBA in the country.

To watch ESPN, you will need to be holding a Foxtel TV subscription complete with the sports package of channels.

How to live stream the Eastern Conference Finals online in Australia

If you'd prefer to live stream the action, you can do so through one of two methods.

Either tune in through Foxtel's streaming services, Kayo Sports, or, if you already have a TV subscription, the Foxtel App.

You can also tune in through the NBA League Pass which offers complete coverage of every NBA game to international users.

Full series schedule

Game 1: Wednesday, May 21, 10am, TD Garden, Boston
Game 2: Friday, May 24, 10am, TD Garden, Boston
Game 3: Sunday, May 26, 10:30am, Gainbridge Fieldhouse, Indianapolis
Game 4: Tuesday, May 28, 10am, Gainbridge Fieldhouse, Indianapolis
Game 5: Thursday, May 30, 10am, TD Garden, Boston
Game 6: Sunday, June 2, 10am, Gainbridge Fieldhouse, Indianapolis
Game 7: Tuesday, June 4, 10am, TD Garden, Boston

Times AEST. * = if required

The winner will proceed to the NBA Finals series against either the Dallas Mavericks or Minnesota Timberwolves, who will contest the Western Conference Finals.