Eight NBA teams are set to be excluded from the resumption of the NBA season under a new proposal that will be voted on in the coming days.

The league has planned to allow just the 22 teams to continue, including the 16 sides that currently hold down playoff positions and another six teams that sit within six games of a top eight spot, according to ESPN.

Five of those teams reside in the Western Conference, with New Orleans, San Antonio, Sacramento, Phoenix and Portland, while Washington are the sole team from the East.

The 22 sides to resume the season include Australian stars Ben Simmons, Joe Ingles, Patty Mills and Andrew Baynes while Dante Exum and Matthew Dellavedova's Cleveland Cavaliers will not continue.

Joining the Cavaliers are Golden State, Minnesota, Atlanta, Detroit, New York, Chicago and Charlotte.

League commissioner Adam Silver is set to address the league's board on Thursday, presenting the new 22-team model.

The Board of Governors had discussed a "play-in" round during for the upcoming post-season to round out the top eight seeds in each conference.

The NBA is aiming to resume the interrupted season on July 31 in Orlando with the NBA Finals to be concluded by mid-October.