In 1891, the first French Championships of tennis were contested at Roland Garros, with many of the game's legendary pioneers proving to be the toast of Paris after becoming kings of the clay court.

However, since 1968, the event has evolved into a behemoth, with the French Open one of the globe's four largest tennis tournaments, sitting snugly alongside Wimbledon and the Australian and US Opens.

From early Australian dominance to a recent run by a legendary Spanish conquistador, here is the list of countries to have produced a men's French Open champion in the Open era.

Country Titles won
Spain 20
Sweden 9
Czechoslovakia 5
United States 4
Brazil 3
Serbia 3
Argentina 2
Australia 2
Switzerland 2
Austria 1
Ecuador 1
France 1
Italy 1
Romania 1
Russia 1