High-paced and high-skilled, Twenty20 cricket is the fastest form of the game.

And since 2017, the world's brightest short-form stars have shone bright on the global stage, competing for the right to be called T20 World Cup champions.

Throughout the opening eight tournaments, eight nations have appeared in tournament finals, with six going on to taste the ultimate success.

But which of these countries has claimed bragging rights on multiple occasions?

Ahead of the 2024 tournament in the West Indies and United States, the Windies and England lead the pack with two tournament wins.

From an opening Indian salvo to a breakthrough Aussie success in the Middle East, here is every result of every T20 World Cup final from 2017 to 2022.

Year Winner Runner-up Margin of victory Host/s
2007 India Pakistan 5 runs South Africa
2009 Pakistan Sri Lanka 8 wickets England
2010 England Australia 7 wickets West Indies
2012 West Indies Sri Lanka 36 runs Sri Lanka
2014 Sri Lanka India 6 wickets Bangladesh
2016 West Indies England 4 wickets India
2021 Australia New Zealand 8 wickets United Arab Emirates/Oman
2022 England Pakistan 5 wickets Australia