Perhaps the most renowned motor race in the United States, and maybe even the world, for more than a century, the globe's greatest drivers and revheads alike have converged at the Crossroads of America to participate in the Indianapolis 500.

First raced in 1911 and always over 500 miles, the race is designed to be gruelling; weeding out the weaklings, separating the wheat from the chaff and seeing only the strongest survive to raise the Borg-Warner Trophy.

From Formula 1 converts to multiple members of the Unser family, here is the full list of drivers to have claimed the checkered flag at the Indy 500.

Year Driver Nationality Make of car
1911 Ray Harroun American Marmon Wasp
1912 Joe Dawson American National
1913 Jules Goux French Peugeot L76
1914 Rene Thomas French Delage
1915 Ralph DePalma American Mercedes
1916 Dario Resta British Peugeot
1917 - - -
1918 - - -
1919 Howdy Wilcox American Peugeot
1920 Gaston Chevrolet American Frontenac
1921 Tommy Milton American Frontenac
1922 Jimmy Murphy American Duesenberg-Miller
1923 Tommy Milton American Miller
1924 Lora L. Corum & Joe Boyer American Duesenberg
1925 Pete DePaolo American Duesenberg
1926 Frank Lockhart American Miller
1927 George Sounders American Duesenberg
1928 Louis Meyer American Miller
1929 Ray Keech American Miller
1930 Billy Arnold American Summers-Miller
1931 Louis Schneider American Stevens-Miller
1932 Fred Frame American Wetteroth-Miller
1933 Louis Meyer American Miller
1934 Bill Cummings American Miller
1935 Kelly Petillo American Wetteroth-Offenhauser
1936 Louis Meyer American Stevens-Miller
1937 Wilbur Shaw American Shaw-Offenhauser
1938 Floyd Roberts American Wetteroth-Miller
1939 Wilbur Shaw American Maserati 8CTF
1940 Wilbur Shaw American Maserati 8CTF
1941 Floyd Davis & Mauri Rose American Wetteroth-Offenhauser
1942 - - -
1943 - - -
1944 - - -
1945 - - -
1946 George Robson American Adams-Sparks
1947 Mauri Rose American Diedt-Offenhauser
1948 Mauri Rose American Diedt-Offenhauser
1949 Bill Holland American Diedt-Offenhauser
1950 Johnnie Parsons American Kurtis-Offenhauser
1951 Lee Wallard American Kurtis-Offenhauser
1952 Troy Ruttman American Kuzma-Offenhauser
1953 Bill Vukovich American Kurtis KK500A-Offenhauser
1954 Bill Vukovich American Kurtis KK500A-Offenhauser
1955 Bob Sweikert American Kurtis KK500D-Offenhauser
1956 Pat Flaherty American Watson-Offenhauser
1957 Sam Hanks American Salih-Offenhauser
1958 Jimmy Bryan American Salih-Offenhauser
1959 Rodger Ward American Watson-Offenhauser
1960 Jim Rathmann American Watson-Offenhauser
1961 A.J. Foyt American Trevis-Offenhauser
1962 Rodger Ward American Watson-Offenhauser
1963 Parnelli Jones American Watson-Offenhauser
1964 A.J. Foyt American Watson-Offenhauser
1965 Jim Clark British Lotus 38-Ford
1966 Graham Hill British Lola T90-Ford
1967 A.J. Foyt American Coyote-Ford
1968 Bobby Unser American Eagle 68-Offenhauser
1969 Mario Andretti American Brawner Hawk Mk III-Ford
1970 Al Unser American Colt 70-Ford
1971 Al Unser American Colt 71-Ford
1972 Mark Donohue American McLaren M16B-Offenhauser
1973 Gordon Johncock American Eagle 73-Offenhauser
1974 Johnny Rutherford American McLaren M16C/D-Offenhauser
1975 Bobby Unser American Eagle 75-Offenhauser
1976 Johnny Rutherford American McLaren M16E-Offenhauser
1977 A.J. Foyt American Coyote-Foyt
1978 Al Unser American Lola T500-Cosworth
1979 Rick Mears American Penske PC6-Cosworth
1980 Johnny Rutherford American Chaparral 2K-Cosworth
1981 Bobby Unser American Penske PC9B-Cosworth
1982 Gordon Johncock American Wildcat Mk8B-Cosworth
1983 Tom Sneva American March 83C-Cosworth
1984 Rick Mears American March 84C-Cosworth
1985 Danny Sullivan American March 85C-Cosworth
1986 Bobby Rahal American March 86C-Cosworth
1987 Al Unser American March 86C-Cosworth
1988 Rick Mears American Penske PC-17-Chevrolet
1989 Emerson Fittipaldi Brazilian Penske PC-18-Chevrolet
1990 Arie Luyendyk Dutch Lola T90/00-Chevrolet
1991 Rick Mears American Penske PC-20-Chevrolet
1992 Al Unser Jr. American Galmer G92-Chevrolet
1993 Emerson Fittipaldi Brazilian Penske PC-18-Chevrolet
1994 Al Unser Jr. American Penske PC-23-Mercedes-Benz
1995 Jacques Villeneuve Canadian Reynard 95I-Ford
1996 Buddy Lazier American Reynard 95I-Ford
1997 Arie Luyendyk Dutch G-Force GF01-Oldsmobile Aurora
1998 Eddie Cheever American Dallara IR7-Oldsmobile Aurora
1999 Kenny Br├Ąck Swedish Dallara IR7-Oldsmobile Aurora
2000 Juan Pablo Montoya Colombian G-Force GF05-Oldsmobile Aurora
2001 Helio Castroneves Brazilian Dallara IR-01-Oldsmobile Aurora
2002 Helio Castroneves Brazilian Dallara IR-02-Chevrolet
2003 Gil de Ferran Brazilian Panoz G-Force GF09-Toyota
2004 Buddy Rice American Panoz G-Force GF09-Honda
2005 Dan Wheldon British Dallara IR-03-Honda
2006 Sam Hornish Jr. American Dallara IR-03-Honda
2007 Dario Franchitti British Dallara IR-05-Honda
2008 Scott Dixon New Zealander Dallara IR-05-Honda
2009 Helio Castroneves Brazilian Dallara IR-05-Honda
2010 Dario Franchitti British Dallara IR-05-Honda
2011 Dan Wheldon British Dallara IR-05-Honda
2012 Dario Franchitti British Dallara DW12-Honda
2013 Tony Kanaan Brazilian Dallara DW12-Chevrolet
2014 Ryan Hunter-Reay American Dallara DW12-Honda
2015 Juan Pablo Montoya Colombian Dallara DW12-Chevrolet
2016 Alexander Rossi American Dallara DW12-Honda
2017 Takuma Sato Japanese Dallara DW12-Honda
2018 Will Power Australian Dallara DW12-Chevrolet
2019 Simon Pagenaud French Dallara DW12-Chevrolet
2020 Takuma Sato Japanese Dallara DW12-Honda
2021 Helio Castroneves Brazilian Dallara DW12-Honda
2022 Marcus Ericsson Swedish Dallara DW12-Honda
2023 Josef Newgarden American Dallara DW12-Chevrolet