In baseball, few elements can have fans jumping higher and faster from their bleacher perches than a long bomb sent out of the yard.

With contemporary batters often having to face pitches well over 95 miles per hour to send them out the other way even quicker, the task has never been easy.

But with the ability to put runs on the board in one fair swing, hitting a long ball is sure to rate among the greatest feelings in world sport.

And while it is impossible to replicate the in-game thrill of sending a dinger over the wall in a Major League Ballpark, the league's annual Home Run Derby over the All-Star has always excited and enthralled the masses.

Pitting the greatest long ball hitters in the game each season, the Derby is the only event where a frozen rope to Triples Alley is met with a groan instead of glee.

From a freakish father and son combination to 'The Kid' himself, here is the full list of Major League Baseball batters to win the Home Run Derby.

Year Winner Team League Venue
1985 Dave Parker Cincinnati Reds NL Metrodome (MIN)
1986 Wally Joyner California Angels AL Astrodome (HOU)
  Darryl Strawberry New York Mets NL  
1987 Andre Dawson Chicago Cubs NL Oakland Coliseum (OAK)
1988 - - - -
1989 Ruben Sierra Texas Rangers AL Anaheim Stadium (CAL)
  Eric Davis Cincinnati Reds NL  
1990 Ryne Sandberg Chicago Cubs NL Wrigley Field (CHC)
1991 Cal Ripken Jr. Baltimore Orioles AL SkyDome (TOR)
1992 Mark McGwire Oakland Athletics AL Jack Murphy Stadium (SD)
1993 Juan Gonzalez Texas Rangers AL Camden Yards (BAL)
1994 Ken Griffey Jr. Seattle Mariners AL Three Rivers Stadium (PIT)
1995 Frank Thomas Chicago White Sox AL The Ballpark in Arlington (TEX)
1996 Barry Bonds San Francisco Giants NL Veterans Stadium (PHI)
1997 Tino Martinez New York Yankees AL Jacobs Field (CLE)
1998 Ken Griffey Jr. (2) Seattle Mariners AL Coors Field (COL)
1999 Ken Griffey Jr. (3) Seattle Mariners AL Fenway Park (BOS)
2000 Sammy Sosa Chicago Cubs NL Turner Field (ATL)
2001 Luiz Gonzalez Arizona Diamondbacks NL Safeco Field (SEA)
2002 Jason Giambi New York Yankees AL Miller Park (MIL)
2003 Garret Anderson Anaheim Angels AL U.S. Cellular Field (CWS)
2004 Miguel Tejada Baltimore Orioles AL Minute Maid Park (HOU)
2005 Bobby Abreu Philadelphia Phillies NL Comerica Park (DET)
2006 Ryan Howard Philadelphia Phillies NL PNC Park (PIT)
2007 Vladimir Guerrero Los Angeles Angels of Anaheim AL AT&T Park (SF)
2008 Justin Morneau Minnesota Twins AL Yankee Stadium (NYY)
2009 Prince Fielder Milwaukee Brewers NL Busch Stadium (STL)
2010 David Ortiz Boston Red Sox AL Angel Stadium (LAA)
2011 Robinson Cano New York Yankees AL Chase Field (ARI)
2012 Prince Fielder (2) Detroit Tigers AL Kauffman Stadium (KC)
2013 Yoenis Cespedes Oakland Athletics AL Citi Field (NYM)
2014 Yoenis Cespedes Oakland Athletics AL Target Field (MIN)
2015 Todd Frazier Cincinnati Reds NL Great American Ball Park (CIN)
2016 Giancarlo Stanton Miami Marlins NL Petco Park (SD)
2017 Aaron Judge New York Yankees AL Marlins Park (MIA)
2018 Bryce Harper Washington Nationals NL Nationals Park (WAS)
2019 Pete Alonso New York Mets NL Progressive Field (CLE)
2020 - - - -
2021 Pete Alonso (2) New York Mets NL Coors Field (COL)
2022 Juan Soto Washington Nationals NL Dodger Stadium (LAD)
2023 Vladimir Guerrero Jr. Toronto Blue Jays AL T-Mobile Park (SEA)