Rugby sevens is like the 15-man game on fast forward.

Seven-minute halves may mean 14-minute games but with just seven on each side to cover a full-sized rugby field, this extra space, more often than not, leads to extra points on the board.

With slick moves from smooth hands, lightning speed, and fancy footwork, sevens players can weave in and out of traffic in a bid to run cricket scores up in no time.

Since the dawn of the international series in 1999-2000, a litany of speedy superstars have tried their hand at the seven-man game, with the cream of the crop prone to crossing the chalk at will during their yearly whistlestop tours of the globe.

Pooled from four different continents, here are the top rugby sevens try scorers from every season since 1999.

Season Player Nationality Tries
1999/00 Vilimoni Delasau Fiji 83
2000/01 Karl Te Nana New Zealand 42
2001/02 Brent Russell South Africa 46
2002/03 Nasoni Roko Fiji 39
2003/04 Fabian Juries & Rob Thirlby South Africa & England 39
2004/05 David Lemi Samoa 46
2005/06 Timoteo Iosua Samoa 40
2006/07 Mikaele Pesamino Samoa 43
2007/08 Fabian Juries South Africa 41
2008/09 Collins Injera Kenya 42
2009/10 Mikaele Pesamini Samoa 56
2010/11 Cecil Afrika South Africa 40
2011/12 Matt Turner England 38
2012/13 Dan Norton England 52
2013/14 Samisoni Viriviri Fiji 52
2014/15 Seabelo Senatla South Africa 47
2015/16 Seabelo Senatla South Africa 66
2016/17 Perry Baker United States 57
2017/18 Carlin Isles United States 49
2018/19 Carlin Isles United States 52
2019/20 Jordon Conroy Ireland 30
2020/21 Muller du Plessis South Africa 13
2021/22 Terry Kennedy Ireland 50
2022/23 Vaa Apelu Maliko Samoa 50