Since the dawn of the professional era in 1996, the cream of the Southern Hemisphere's rugby crop has battled it out for the right to be named Super Rugby champions.

While currently made up of 12 teams located in three separate countries - Australia, New Zealand and Fiji - the competition has undergone mass change, with a further 11 franchises from a further three countries no longer in the running after the Jaguares (Argentina), Sunwolves (Japan) and all nine South African sides all coming and going of late.

But which of these franchises has appeared in the most grand finals?

From a perennial champion in Canterbury to a herd of wild horses in Australia's capital, here is the full list of teams to have played in at least one Super Rugby final.

Franchise Grand final appearances
Crusaders (NZ) 16
Brumbies (AUS) 6
Blues (NZ) 5
Chiefs (NZ) 4
Sharks (SA) 4
Bulls (SA) 3
Hurricanes (NZ) 3
Lions (SA) 3
Waratahs (AUS) 3
Highlanders (NZ) 2
Jaguares (ARG) 1
Reds (AUS) 1
Stormers (SA) 1