GALLE, SRI LANKA - JULY 08: Australian batsmen Marnus Labuschagne and Steven Smith run between wickets during day one of the Second Test in the series between Sri Lanka and Australia at Galle International Stadium on July 08, 2022 in Galle, Sri Lanka. (Photo by Buddhika Weerasinghe/Getty Images)

Australia will kick off their home summer of cricket on Thursday, December 14 with the first Test of a series against Pakistan to be played in Perth at Optus Stadium.

The first ball of the Test is scheduled for 1:20pm (AEDT) - 10:20am (local time). The test, if it runs for all five days, will conclude on Monday, December 18.

The series will comprise of three Tests against a touring Pakistan side to kick-off the summer, with the second being the Boxing Day Test in Melbourne at the Melbourne Cricket Ground, and the third held in Sydney in early January at the Sydney Cricket Ground.

How to watch the first Test on TV

Under current agreements between Cricket Australia and broadcast networks, Fox Sports and Channel 7 simulcast the telecast of all home Test cricket.

Fox Sports - who will broadcast the game through Foxtel Channel 501 - will commence their coverage from 12pm (AEDT) - 9am (local time). That is 80 minutes prior to the first ball.

To watch the coverage on Fox Sports, you will need a valid Foxtel subscription with the sports package.

Channel 7, which is a free to air channel, will commence their coverage from 12:30pm (AEDT) - 9:30am (local time). Some states and territories may need to tune into either 7Two or 7Mate to catch the coverage due to other programming being scheduled on Channel 7.

All Sport suggests you check your local electronic guides for confirmation.

How to watch the first Test online

The first Test will also be live streamed by each broadcaster's digital offering.

For the Fox Sports coverage, you can tune into the Foxtel App if you already have a TV subscription to Foxtel, while those without a TV subscription can sign up for Kayo Sports.

Channel 7 will live stream their coverage through 7Plus which is free to use with a valid email address.


Pat Cummins (c), Scott Boland, Alex Carey, Cameron Green, Josh Hazlewood, Travis Head, Usman Khawaja, Marnus Labuschagne, Nathan Lyon, Mitch Marsh, Lance Morris, Steve Smith, Mitch Starc, David Warner

Shan Masood (c), Aamer Jamal, Abdullah Shafique, Abrar Ahmed, Babar Azam, Faheem Ashraf, Hasan Ali, Imam-ul-Haq, Khurram Shahzad, Mir Hamza, Mohammad Rizwan, Mohammad Wasim Jnr, Nauman Ali, Saim Ayub, Salman Agha, Sarfaraz Ahmed, Saud Shakeel, Shaheen Afridi

Hours of play

AEDT (New South Wales/Victoria/Tasmania/Australian Capital Territory)
First session: 1:20pm - 3:20pm
Lunch: 3:20pm - 4pm
Second session: 4pm - 6pm
Tea: 6pm - 6:20pm
Third session: 6:20pm - 8:20pm

ACDT (South Australia)
First session: 12:50pm - 2:50pm
Lunch: 2:50pm - 3:30pm
Second session: 3:30pm - 5:30pm
Tea: 5:30pm - 5:50pm
Third session: 5:50pm - 7:50pm

AEST (Queensland)
First session: 12:20pm - 2:20pm
Lunch: 2:20pm - 3pm
Second session: 3pm - 5pm
Tea: 5pm - 5:20pm
Third session: 5:20pm - 7:20pm

ACST (Northern Territory)
First session: 11:50am - 1:50pm
Lunch: 1:50pm - 2:30pm
Second session: 2:30pm - 4pm
Tea: 4pm - 4:20pm
Third session: 4:20pm - 6:20pm

AWST (Western Australia)
First session: 10:20am - 12:20pm
Lunch: 12:20pm - 1pm
Second session: 1pm - 3pm
Tea: 3pm - 3:20pm
Third session: 3:20pm - 5:20pm

PST (Pakistan)
First session: 7:20am - 9:20am
Lunch: 9:20am - 10am
Second session: 10am - 12pm
Tea: 12pm - 12:20pm
Third session: 12:20pm - 2:20pm

Play may be extended due to slow over rates or weather. All times subject to change.

Match officials

On-field umpires: Richard Illingworth (England) and Joel Wilson (West Indies)
Third umpire: Michael Gough (England)
Fourth umpire: Donovan Koch (Australia)
Match referee: Javagal Srinath (India)