Switzerland's Stan Wawrinka returns to Italy's Thomas Fabbiano during their men's singles second round match on the fourth day of the 2018 Wimbledon Championships at The All England Lawn Tennis Club in Wimbledon, southwest London, on July 5, 2018. (Photo by Oli SCARFF / AFP) / RESTRICTED TO EDITORIAL USE (Photo credit should read OLI SCARFF/AFP/Getty Images)

One of Australia's most well-known and prestigious tournaments, the Australian Open is an annual tennis tournament that has been going on since 1905.

Played over two weeks, the Australian Open was established in 1905, but since 1969, it has been an Open Era event.

This allowed professional players to compete with amateurs; before 1969, only amateurs could compete in Grand Slam tournaments.

Since 1969, 15 individuals have been crowned as winners of the Australian Open, with Novak Djokovic (10 wins), Roger Federer (6 wins) and Andre Agassi (4 wins) at the top of the list.

Australian Open Winners (1969-)

Year Winner Runners up
2023 Novak Djokovic
Stefanos Tsitsipas
2022 Rafael Nadal
Daniil Medvedev
2021 Novak Djokovic
Daniil Medvedev
2020 Novak Djokovic Dominic Thiem
2019 Novak Djokovic Rafael Nadal
2018 Roger Federer Marin Čilić
2017 Roger Federer Rafael Nadal
2016 Novak Djokovic Andy Murray
2015 Novak Djokovic Andy Murray
2014 Stan Wawrinka Rafael Nadal
2013 Novak Djokovic Andy Murray
2012 Novak Djokovic Rafael Nadal
2011 Novak Djokovic Andy Murray
2010 Roger Federer Andy Murray
2009 Rafael Nadal Roger Federer
2008 Novak Djokovic
Jo-Wilfried Tsonga
2007 Roger Federer
Fernando González
2006 Roger Federer
Marcos Baghdatis
2005 Marat Safin Lleyton Hewitt
2004 Roger Federer Marat Safin
2003 Andre Agassi Rainer Schüttler
2002 Thomas Johansson Marat Safin
2001 Andre Agassi Arnaud Clément
2000 Andre Agassi
Yevgeny Kafelnikov
1999 Yevgeny Kafelnikov Thomas Enqvist
1998 Petr Korda Marcelo Ríos
1997 Pete Sampras Carlos Moyá
1996 Boris Becker Michael Chang
1995 Andre Agassi Pete Sampras
1994 Pete Sampras Todd Martin
1993 Jim Courier Stefan Edberg
1992 Jim Courier Stefan Edberg
1991 Boris Becker Ivan Lendl
1990 Ivan Lendl Stefan Edberg
1989 Ivan Lendl Miloslav Mečíř
1988 Mats Wilander Pat Cash
1987 Stefan Edberg Pat Cash
1986 No Tournament
1985 Stefan Edberg Mats Wilander
1984 Mats Wilander Kevin Curren
1983 Mats Wilander Ivan Lendl
1982 Johan Kriek Steve Denton
1981 Johan Kriek Steve Denton
1980 Brian Teacher Kim Warwick
1979 Guillermo Vilas John Sadri
1978 Guillermo Vilas John Marks
1977 (2) Vitas Gerulaitis John Lloyd
1977 (1) Roscoe Tanner Guillermo Vilas
1976 Mark Edmondson
John Newcombe
1975 John Newcombe Jimmy Connors
1974 Jimmy Connors Phil Dent
1973 John Newcombe Onny Parun
1972 Ken Rosewall
Malcolm Anderson
1970 Arthur Ashe Dick Crealy
1969 Rod Laver Andrés Gimeno