MELBOURNE, AUSTRALIA - JANUARY 28: Serena Williams poses with the Daphne Akhurst Trophy after winning the Women's Singles Final against Venus Williams of the United States on day 13 of the 2017 Australian Open at Melbourne Park on January 28, 2017 in Melbourne, Australia. (Photo by Scott Barbour/Getty Images)

One of Australia's most well-known and prestigious tournaments, the Australian Open is an annual tennis tournament that has been going on since 1905.

Played over two weeks, the Australian Open was established in 1905, but since 1969, it has been an Open Era event.

This allowed professional players to compete with amateurs; before 1969, only amateurs could compete in Grand Slam tournaments.

Since 1969, 15 individuals have been crowned as winners of the Australian Open, with Serena Williams (7 wins), Margaret Smith Court (4 wins), Evonne Goolagong (4 wins), Steffi Graf (4 wins) and Monica Seles (4 wins) at the top of the list.

Australian Open Winners (1969-)

Year Winners Runner-up
2023 Aryna Sabalenka Elena Rybakina
2022 Ashleigh Barty Danielle Collins
2021 Naomi Osaka Jennifer Brady
2020 Sofia Kenin
Garbiñe Muguruza
2019 Naomi Osaka Petra Kvitová
2018 Caroline Wozniacki Simona Halep
2017 Serena Williams Venus Williams
2016 Angelique Kerber Serena Williams
2015 Serena Williams
Maria Sharapova
2014 Li Na
Dominika Cibulková
2013 Victoria Azarenka Li Na
2012 Victoria Azarenka
Maria Sharapova
2011 Kim Clijsters Li Na
2010 Serena Williams Justine Henin
2009 Serena Williams Dinara Safina
2008 Maria Sharapova Ana Ivanovic
2007 Serena Williams
Maria Sharapova
2006 Amélie Mauresmo Justine Henin
2005 Serena Williams
Lindsay Davenport
2004 Justine Henin Kim Clijsters
2003 Serena Williams Venus Williams
2002 Jennifer Capriati Martina Hingis
2001 Jennifer Capriati Martina Hingis
2000 Lindsay Davenport Martina Hingis
1999 Martina Hingis
Amélie Mauresmo
1998 Martina Hingis
Conchita Martínez
1997 Martina Hingis Mary Pierce
1996 Monica Seles Anke Huber
1995 Mary Pierce
Arantxa Sánchez Vicario
1994 Steffi Graf
Arantxa Sánchez Vicario
1993 Monica Seles Steffi Graf
1992 Monica Seles
Mary Joe Fernández
1991 Monica Seles Jana Novotná
1990 Steffi Graf
Mary Joe Fernández
1989 Steffi Graf Helena Suková
1988 Steffi Graf Chris Evert
1987 Hana Mandlíková
Martina Navratilova
1986 No Tournament
1985 Martina Navratilova Chris Evert
1984 Chris Evert Helena Suková
1983 Martina Navratilova Kathy Jordan
1982 Chris Evert
Martina Navratilova
1981 Martina Navratilova Chris Evert
1980 Hana Mandlíková Wendy Turnbull
1979 Barbara Jordan Sharon Walsh
1977 (Jan) Kerry Melville Reid
Dianne Fromholtz
1977 (Dec) Evonne Goolagong Helen Gourlay
1978 Chris O'Neil Betsy Nagelsen
1976 Evonne Goolagong
Renáta Tomanová
1975 Evonne Goolagong
Martina Navratilova
1974 Evonne Goolagong Chris Evert
1973 Margaret Court
Evonne Goolagong
1972 Virginia Wade
Evonne Goolagong
1971 Margaret Court
Evonne Goolagong
1970 Margaret Court Kerry Melville
1969 Margaret Court Billie Jean King