With the 2024 NBA Finals set to begin with the Boston Celtics facing the Dallas Mavericks in Game 1 at TD Garden, anticipation is high for what promises to be an electrifying series.

The Celtics, who topped the Eastern Conference with 64 wins, are making their second Finals appearance in three years, aiming for their first championship since 2008. A victory would secure their record-breaking 18th title, surpassing the Los Angeles Lakers.

On the other side, the Mavericks, who secured the fifth seed in the Western Conference with a 50-32 record, are back in the Finals for the first time since their remarkable 2011 triumph over the Miami Heat.

Both teams are poised for a thrilling showdown, with superstars Jayson Tatum and Luka Doncic leading the charge for their respective franchises.

At the conclusion of this epic battle, one outstanding performer will be honoured with the Bill Russell NBA Finals Most Valuable Player Award. This prestigious accolade, established in 1969, has been awarded to the most exceptional player in the Finals, as determined by a panel of eleven media members.

The award has seen 34 players receive the honour over 55 seasons, with legends like Michael Jordan, LeBron James, and Magic Johnson etching their names in history on multiple occasions.

OAKLAND, CA - JUNE 19: LeBron James #23 of the Cleveland Cavaliers reacts after defeating the Golden State Warriors 93-89 in Game 7 of the 2016 NBA Finals at ORACLE Arena on June 19, 2016 in Oakland, California. NOTE TO USER: User expressly acknowledges and agrees that, by downloading and or using this photograph, User is consenting to the terms and conditions of the Getty Images License Agreement. (Photo by Thearon W. Henderson/Getty Images)

Legendary Laker Jerry West, the first-ever recipient of the Finals MVP award in 1969, remains the only player to have won the award despite being on the losing team. His remarkable performance for the Los Angeles Lakers in a seven-game series against the Boston Celtics set a unique precedent in NBA history.

As we await the crowning of the next Finals MVP, let's take a journey through history and revisit every player who has earned this illustrious award, reflecting on the incredible performances that have defined NBA Finals greatness.

NBA Finals MVP winners:

2023-24: Jaylen Brown, Boston Celtics

2022-23: Nikola Jokic, Denver Nuggets

2021-22: Stephen Curry, Golden State Warriors

2020-21: Giannis Antetokounmpo, Milwaukee Bucks

2019-20: LeBron James, Los Angeles Lakers

2018-19: Kawhi Leonard, Toronto Raptors

2017-18: Kevin Durant, Golden State Warriors

2016-17: Kevin Durant, Golden State Warriors

2015-16: LeBron James, Cleveland Cavaliers

2014-15: Andre Iguodala, Golden State Warriors

2013-14: Kawhi Leonard, San Antonio Spurs

2012-13: LeBron James, Miami Heat

2011-12: LeBron James, Miami Heat

2010-11: Dirk Nowitzki, Dallas Mavericks

2009-10: Kobe Bryant, Los Angeles Lakers

2008-09: Kobe Bryant, Los Angeles Lakers

2007-08: Paul Pierce, Boston Celtics

2006-07: Tony Parker, San Antonio Spurs

2005-06: Dwyane Wade, Miami Heat

2004-05: Tim Duncan, San Antonio Spurs

2003-04: Chauncey Billups, Detroit Pistons

2002-03: Tim Duncan, San Antonio Spurs

2001-02: Shaquille O'Neal, Los Angeles Lakers

2000-01: Shaquille O'Neal, Los Angeles Lakers

1999-00: Shaquille O'Neal, Los Angeles Lakers

1998-99: Tim Duncan, San Antonio Spurs

1997-98: Michael Jordan, Chicago Bulls

1996-97: Michael Jordan, Chicago Bulls

1995-96: Michael Jordan, Chicago Bulls

1994-95: Hakeem Olajuwon, Houston Rockets

1993-94: Hakeem Olajuwon, Houston Rockets

1992-93: Michael Jordan, Chicago Bulls

1991-92: Michael Jordan, Chicago Bulls

1990-91: Michael Jordan, Chicago Bulls

1989-90: Isiah Thomas, Detroit Pistons

1988-89: Joe Dumars, Detroit Pistons

1987-88: James Worthy, Los Angeles Lakers

1986-87: Magic Johnson, Los Angeles Lakers

1985-86: Larry Bird, Boston Celtics

1984-85: Kareem Abdul-Jabbar, Los Angeles Lakers

1983-84: Larry Bird, Boston Celtics

1982-83: Moses Malone, Philadelphia 76ers

1981-82: Magic Johnson, Los Angeles Lakers

1980-81: Cedric Maxwell, Boston Celtics

1979-80: Magic Johnson, Los Angeles Lakers

1978-79: Dennis Johnson, Seattle SuperSonics

1977-78: Wes Unseld, Washington Bullets

1976-77: Bill Walton, Portland Trail Blazers

1975-76: Jo Jo White, Boston Celtics

1974-75: Rick Barry, Golden State Warriors

1973-74: John Havlicek, Boston Celtics

1972-73: Willis Reed, New York Knicks

1971-72: Wilt Chamberlain, Los Angeles Lakers

1970-71: Kareem Abdul-Jabbar, Milwaukee Bucks

1969-70: Willis Reed, New York Knicks

1968-69: Jerry West, Los Angeles Lakers