August 1979: the inaugural season of the National Basketball League commences in earnest.

While alterations have been made to the league over the past four decades and change, the NBL remains Australia's third-oldest continual sporting code, behind only the Sheffield Shield and the Australian Football League.

Several franchises may have reigned supreme over the past 45 years, however, plenty of once-beloved teams have simultaneously fallen by the wayside, including a handful of past champions.

From a smattering of original teams to a destined-to-fail franchise out of Asia, here are the 24 defunct NBL teams.

Franchise Location Years Active
Canberra Cannons Canberra, ACT 1979-2003
Devenport Warriors Devenport, Tasmania 1983-1984
Eastside Spectres Nunawading, Victoria 1979-1991
Forestville Eagles Wayville, South Australia 1980-1981
Frankston Bears Frankston, Victoria 1983-1984
Geelong Supercats Geelong, Victoria 1982-1996
Glenelg Tigers Glenelg, South Australia 1979
Gold Coast Blaze Gold Coast, Queensland 2007-2012
Gold Coast Rollers Gold Coast, Queensland 1990-1996
Hobart Devils Hobart, Tasmania 1983-1996
Hunter Pirates Newcastle, New South Wales 2003-2006
Launceston Casino City Launceston, Tasmania 1980-1982
Newcastle Falcons Newcastle, New South Wales 1979-1999
North Melbourne Giants North Melbourne, Victoria 1980-1998
Singapore Slingers Singapore 2006-2008
South Dragons Melbourne, Victoria 2006-2009
South East Melbourne Magic Melbourne, Victoria 1992-1998
Southern Melbourne Saints Melbourne, Victoria 1979-1991
Sydney Supersonics Sydney, New South Wales 1979-1987
Townsville Crocodiles Townsville, Queensland 1993-2016
Victoria Titans Melbourne, Victoria 1998-2004
West Adelaide Bearcats Adelaide, South Australia 1979-1984
West Sydney Razorbacks Western Sydney, New South Wales 1998-2009
West Sydney Westars Bankstown, New South Wales 1979-1987