The New South Wales Blues have named their squad for the opening clash of the Marsh One Day Cup, to be played against Victoria on Friday at the Junction Oval.

The 13-man squad for the game includes Australian star Nathan Lyon, who is available with the national team currently in limited overs mode.

While Australia are away in India playing three T20s, ahead of five more at home against the West Indies and England, and then the T20 World Cup, Lyon will get plenty of cricket with the Blues over the first half of the summer.

All of Pat Cummins, Josh Hazlewood, Steve Smith, Adam Zampa, Daniel Sams and Sean Abbott are on the trip to India and so will miss the game against Victoria, while Mitchell Starc is out due to injury.

David Warner also misses the season-opener after being rested from the Indian T20 series.

New South Wales' casualty ward also features Ollie Davies, Hayden Kerr and gun spinner Tanveer Sangha, who won't play before the start of the Big Bash as he recovers from a stress fracture of the back.

Kurtis Patterson will captain the squad for the game against Victoria, and alongside Lyon, Moises Henriques and Daniel Hughes, will be the most experienced players in the team.

Jason Sangha will act as the vice-captain for the match, while Jack Edwards, Matt Gilkes, Baxter Holt, Lachlan Hearne, Liam Hatcher, Ben Dwarshuis and Chris Tremain make up the remainder of the 13-man squad.

Mickey Edwards also returns to a New South Wales first XI squad after a number of back injuries over the last few years.

The match starts at 10:05am (AEST) on Friday morning.

NSW Squad to play Victoria

Ben Dwarshuis
Jack Edwards
Mickey Edwards
Matthew Gilkes
Liam Hatcher
Lachlan Hearne
Moises Henriques
Baxter Holt
Daniel Hughes
Nathan Lyon
Kurtis Patterson (c)
Jason Sangha (vc)
Chris Tremain

11 to be selected.