Indian batsman and captain Virat Kohli reacts towards crowd as he walks back towards pavilion after his dismissal during the second day of third test cricket match between India and New Zealand at The Holkar Cricket Stadium in Indore on October 9, 2016. ---- PUNIT PARANJPE/AFP/Getty Images)

India have confirmed their squad for the remainder of the England Test series, with Virat Kohli not making a return to the final three matches.

Kohli has continued to be unavailable due to personal reasons, while top-order batter Shreyas Iyer has also been left out of the squad for the remaining Test matches.

Playing in the opening two matches, Iyer was the only senior batter not to make a significant dent in the team's total score with innings of 35, 13, 27, and 29.

It was reported by ESPNcricinfo that Iyer experienced some minor back spasms after the second Test but was available to be selected for the remainder of the series.

The 17-man squad includes KL Rahul and Ravindra Jadeja at the moment, but this may change as the duo are subject to fitness clearances by the medical team before the opening day of the Third Test begins.

The uncapped Sarfaraz Khan will remain in the squad, while seamer Akash Deep has been awarded his maiden call-up to the team, joining fellow fast-bowlers Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammed Siraj and Mukesh Kumar.

Day 1 of the third Test will start on February 15 in Rajkot, with the series tied at 1-1.

India squad:

Rohit Sharma (c)
Jasprit Bumrah (vc)
Yashasvi Jaiswal
Shubman Gill
KL Rahul*
Rajat Patidar
Sarfaraz Khan
Dhruv Jurel (wk)
S Bharat (wk)
Ravi Ashwin
Ravindra Jadeja*
Axar Patel
Washington Sundar
Kuldeep Yadav
Mohammed Siraj
Mukesh Kumar
Akash Deep