The T20 World Cup has arrived, with 20 teams heading to the United States of America and Carribean to contest for the ultimate prize in cricket's shortest format.

This is a full guide to watching the tourmament in Australia.

England enter the tournament as defending champions, and will be among the favourites, with all the usual suspects to be likely in the knockout rounds including Australia, India, New Zealand and South Africa.

How to watch the tournament in Australia

The tournament, for the first time, will be broadcast exclusively on Amazon Prime.

They now hold the rights to all ICC events - including the World Cups and World Test Championship final - in Australia.

Their exclusive coverage of every game kicks off on June 2 with the USA and Canada, and runs all the way through to the final which will be held on June 30.

To watch Amazon Prime, you'll need to sign up for an account, which will set you back a subscription fee on a monthly basis, although there is a 30-day free trial for new members.

What is the tournament format

For the first time, the T20 World Cup will feature 20 teams. They will be split into five groups of four, with matches to be held in the USA and the Carribean.

Two teams from each group will qualify after a round robin, with a super eight stage to be held next, before semi-finals and the final.

The super eight stage will feature two groups of four with one team from each of the Round 1 groups.

Which teams are playing?

Group A: Canada, India, Ireland, Pakistan, United States of America
Group B: Australia, England, Namibia, Oman, Scotland
Group C: Afghanistan, New Zealand, Papua New Guinea, Uganda, West Indies
Group D: Bangladesh, South Africa, Sri Lanka, Nepal, Netherlands