Alongside The Open, The Masters and the US Open, the PGA Championship remains one of four major pillars in the professional golfing calendar.

Since 1916, the event has been held at a myriad of courses right across America, with a champion crowned after four days of sterlingĀ golf.

Yet, since 1958, the winner has been found via stroke play rather than match play.

However, the biggest margin of victory was set some 54 years later when Northern Irishman Rory McIlroy blitzed the field at Kiawah Island to claim the title by 8 strokes over fellow Brit David Lynn.

Year Winner Final score Margin of victory Runner up
2012 Rory McIlroy (NI) 275 (-13) 8 strokes David Lynn (ENG)

Despite starting hot with a 67, and matching it with a mirror score in his third round, the fresh-faced McIlroy would save his best for last, scoring 66 on his final tour around the South Carolinian course.