During the early stages of every season, the golfing world converges at TPC Sawgrass for the unofficial fifth major: The Players Championship.

Across the past 49 tournaments, a slew of superstars have saluted on the final day after navigating island greens and the beating Florida sun.

However, only one of these champions has recorded the lowest round of all time.

That honour remains with Greg Norman after the Australian finished on the Sunday at 24-under in 1994.

Aged 39, 'The Shark' started his week with a then-record 63 in the first round, buttressing his white-hot start with an uber-consistent trifecta of 5-under rounds from Friday to Sunday.

Norman's scintillating run saw him finish four shots ahead of American Fuzzy Zoeller.

The previous tournament record had been set by 'The Golden Bear' Jack Nicklaus who shot 19-under on the East Course at Inverrary Country Club.

The closest anyone has come to dethroning Norman was Fred Couples in 1996 and then Webb Simpson in 2018, with both shooting 18-under at TPC Sawgrass.