In 1897, the first female French Championships of tennis were contested at Roland Garros, with many of the game's legendary pioneers proving to be the toast of Paris after becoming queens of the clay court.

However, since 1968, the event has evolved into a behemoth, with the French Open one of the globe's four largest tennis tournaments, sitting snugly alongside Wimbledon and the Australian and US Opens.

From a set of Aussie assassins to this century's string of champions, here is the full list of female singles players to have reigned supreme at Roland Garros during the Open era.

Year Player Nationality
1968 Nancy Richey American
1969 Margaret Court Australian
1970 Margaret Court Australian
1971 Evonne Goolagong Australian
1972 Billie Jean King American
1973 Margaret Court Australian
1974 Chris Evert American
1975 Chris Evert American
1976 Sue Barker British
1977 Mima Jaušovec Yugoslavian
1978 Virginia Ruzici Romanian
1979 Chris Evert American
1980 Chris Evert American
1981 Hana Mandlíková Czech
1982 Martina Navratilova American
1983 Chris Evert American
1984 Martina Navratilova American
1985 Chris Evert American
1986 Chris Evert American
1987 Steffi Graf German
1988 Steffi Graf German
1989 Arantxa Sánchez Vicario Spanish
1990 Monica Seles Yugoslavian
1991 Monica Seles Yugoslavian
1992 Monica Seles Yugoslavian
1993 Steffi Graf German
1994 Arantxa Sánchez Vicario Spanish
1995 Steffi Graf German
1996 Steffi Graf German
1997 Iva Majoli Croatian
1998 Arantxa Sánchez Vicario Spanish
1999 Steffi Graf German
2000 Mary Pierce French
2001 Jennifer Capriati American
2002 Serena Williams American
2003 Justine Henin Belgian
2004 Anastasia Myskina Russian
2005 Justine Henin Belgian
2006 Justine Henin Belgian
2007 Justine Henin Belgian
2008 Ana Ivanovic Serbian
2009 Svetlana Kuznetsova Russian
2010 Francesca Schiavone Italian
2011 Li Na Chinese
2012 Maria Sharapova Russian
2013 Serena Williams American
2014 Maria Sharapova Russian
2015 Serena Williams American
2016 Garbiñe Muguruza Spanish
Jeļena Ostapenko
2018 Simona Halep Romanian
2019 Ashleigh Barty Australian
2020 Iga Świątek Polish
2021 Barbora Krejčíková Czech
2022 Iga Świątek Polish
2023 Iga Świątek Polish