In 1891, the first French Championships of tennis were contested at Roland Garros, with many of the game's legendary pioneers proving to be the toast of Paris after becoming kings of the clay court.

However, since 1968, the event has evolved into a behemoth, with the French Open one of the globe's four largest tennis tournaments, sitting snugly alongside Wimbledon and the Australian and US Opens.

From a set of Aussie assassins to a legendary run by a Spanish conquistador, here is the full list of male singles players to have reigned supreme at Roland Garros during the Open era.

Year Player Nationality
1968 Ken Rosewall Australian
1969 Rod Laver Australian
1970 Jan Kodeš Czech
1971 Jan Kodeš Czech
1972 Andrés Gimeno Spanish
1973 Ilie Năstase Romanian
1974 Björn Borg Swedish
1975 Björn Borg Swedish
1976 Adriano Panatta Italian
1977 Guillermo Vilas Argentinian
1978 Björn Borg Swedish
1979 Björn Borg Swedish
1980 Björn Borg Swedish
1981 Björn Borg Swedish
1982 Mats Wilander Swedish
1983 Yannick Noah French
1984 Ivan Lendl Czech
1985 Mats Wilander Swedish
1986 Ivan Lendl Czech
1987 Ivan Lendl Czech
1988 Mats Wilander Swedish
1989 Michael Chang American
1990 Andrés Gómez Ecuadorian
1991 Jim Courier American
1992 Jim Courier American
1993 Sergi Bruguera Spanish
1994 Sergi Bruguera Spanish
1995 Thomas Muster Austrian
1996 Yevgeny Kafelnikov Russian
1997 Gustavo Kuerten Brazilian
1998 Carlos Moyá Spanish
1999 Andre Agassi American
2000 Gustavo Kuerten Brazilian
2001 Gustavo Kuerten Brazilian
2002 Albert Costa Spanish
2003 Juan Carlos Ferrero Spanish
2004 Gastón Gaudio Argentinian
2005 Rafael Nadal Spanish
2006 Rafael Nadal Spanish
2007 Rafael Nadal Spanish
2008 Rafael Nadal Spanish
2009 Roger Federer Spanish
2010 Rafael Nadal Spanish
2011 Rafael Nadal Spanish
2012 Rafael Nadal Spanish
2013 Rafael Nadal Spanish
2014 Rafael Nadal Spanish
2015 Stan Wawrinka Swiss
2016 Novak Djokovic Serbian
2017 Rafael Nadal Spanish
2018 Rafael Nadal Spanish
2019 Rafael Nadal Spanish
2020 Rafael Nadal Spanish
2021 Novak Djokovic Serbian
2022 Rafael Nadal Spanish
2023 Novak Djokovic Serbian